Municipal Law

Cramer & Anderson prides itself on its long history of representing Connecticut municipalities in Fairfield and Litchfield Counties. Municipal law requires expertise in numerous legal issues facing Connecticut towns and cities, ranging from ordinance and contract drafting to representation of land use agencies and litigation at all levels of the Connecticut court system.

Cramer & Anderson’s municipal lawyers have decades’ worth of experience in providing the highest quality legal services to our municipal clients at highly competitive rates. Our municipal clients include the City of Danbury and the Towns of Kent and Cornwall. We also worked with the Town of New Milford for more than a decade, and we have been retained as special counsel to numerous other municipalities throughout the state.

In addition to our heavy emphasis on land use and environmental municipal cases, extensive, broad and diverse experience in advising and representing towns and cities in all aspects of municipal law is the hallmark of Cramer & Anderson’s municipal law practice. A number of our municipal law attorneys are, and have been for decades, chief legal counsel to municipalities and have served others as special counsel for specific matters and cases, including charter revisions.

Our experience includes litigating municipal property tax appeals relating to highly specialized energy-generation properties and impoundments, sometimes valued in the tens or hundreds of millions, as well as complex commercial properties and entire subdivisions. Our lawyers have litigated a wide spectrum of municipal cases involving injunctions, bid claims and enforcement of codes and regulation.

From drafting proposed ordinances to analyzing contracts and bid requirements, we routinely furnish prompt, day-to-day legal advice to towns and cities concerning charter provisions, statutory mandates and administrative requirements in addition to labor and personnel issues.

Related areas are Land Use and Environmental Law and Civil Litigation.


D. Randall DiBella

Perley Grimes

Dan Casagrande

Scott McCarthy

Kim Nolan

Dolores Schiesel

John Tower

Kent Mancini

Abigail Miranda